little weight

the fourth studio album


40 Watt Sun have announced a new album titled Little Weight. The first track to be taken from the album, Closer to Life, is streaming everywhere now. Little Weight is the follow up to 2022's Perfect Light and sees Patrick Walker take a different approach to writing and recording. The album will be released on Patrick's own label, Fisher's Folly, on September 6, 2024. Pre-orders are available now.

Whilst Perfect Light was written and recorded over a long time period, with a wide cast of musicians, for Little Weight Patrick was determined to simplify the record-making process and recapture more of the rawness and spontaneity of the band’s earliest recordings. Setting aside a designated amount of time, under specific - often isolated - conditions, the crafting of the songs that make up Little Weight took place.


A pre-planned series of retreats provided the space and opportunities to focus, within which Walker and his collaborators  - drummer Andrew Prestige and bassist Roland Scriver - were able to do their best work. Designated time to work without distraction allowed them absolute freedom to create, whilst deadlines added to the urgency of the final recordings captured at Holy Mountain Studios in London in December 2023. Engineering and mixing was undertaken by Chris Fullard (Sunn O))); IDLES; Ulver), before Adam Gonsalves mastered the tracks in Portland, Oregon. The album's cover art is by Tekla Vály.

Track list:

1. Pour Your Love
2. Half a World Away
3. Astoria
4. Feathers
5. Closer to Life
6. The Undivided Truth

Little Weight is available to pre-order now and will be available digitally as well as on CD and vinyl. There are three different gatefold vinyl variants available - black vinyl, limited red vinyl, and an ultra-limited clear vinyl edition of just 400 copies, the latter of which is available only from the 40 Watt Sun web store. Each vinyl copy of Little Weight (regardless of its colour variant) ordered direct from the official band webstore will come with a bespoke leather, foil-blocked 40 Watt Sun bookmark.




40 Watt Sun’s third studio album, Perfect Light, was released on January 21st 2022, digitally via Cappio Records, and on physical formats via Svart Records.

Perfect Light is a collection of eight songs recorded across a year, in Hertfordshire (Chat Bizarre Studios) and London (Holy Mountain Studios).

The expertly crafted, personal songs range from sparse, unaccompanied voice and guitar, through gently layered instrumentation featuring piano and delicate brush work, to moments more reflective of the warm, subtle overdrive of the band’s previous album, Wider than the Sky (2016). Like Patrick’s best work, the songs quietly build with emotion, and ache with a darkness and melancholy beauty.


Track list:

1. Reveal
2. Behind My Eyes
3. Until
4. Colours
5. The Spaces in Between
6. Raise Me Up
7. A Thousand Miles
8. Closure

Perfect Light is available as a 2CD numbered digibook containing a 38-page booklet of lyrics and photography by Patrick Walker bound within the gatefold. The second disc contains a 26+ minute live EP recorded at United Reform Church, Hertfordshire.

The vinyl edition (due May 2022) will be available as a 2LP gatefold set on black vinyl, with a 28-page booklet featuring lyrics and photography. There will also be a limited edition pressed on yellow vinyl. The first vinyl pressing will also include a bonus 12” single in a unique picture sleeve, featuring two alternative versions of album tracks, including a version of Reveal recorded with Emma Ruth Rundle.

You can order physical copies of Perfect Light direct from the band web store now, where, as always, records and CDs can be signed/personalised upon request: